Scroll to Section:

Parliaments and parliamentary committees can resolve binary decisions by simple majority voting. In this video, BENNY MOLDOVANU considers the impact of voting procedures on more complex decisions, analyzing factors including the order and sequencing of votes. Modeling the games that specific voting procedures induce, the work also compares the theoretical outcomes to what actually happens in parliamentary practice. Identifying procedures that enable parliamentarians to vote sincerely, the research is highly relevant to existing legislative bodies as well as to those in new democracies.


Benny Moldovanu is Professor of Economics at the University of Bonn. Previously Professor of Economics at the University of Mannheim, Moldovanu has also held visiting professorships at Yale and UCL. His main research interests include auctions and mechanism design and microeconomic theory. Having been associate editor of the Journal of Economic Theory and Econometrica, Moldovanu has been a recipient of the German Economic Association’s Gossen Prize (2004) and the Max Planck Research Award (2001).


University of Bonn (Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn)

Bonn is one of the large universities in Germany, with around 36,000 students, 550 professors, 6,500 other staff staff. It offers a wide disciplinary spectrum comprising some 200 different degree programmes, from Agricultural Science to Tibetan Studies. This diversity is what characterizes Bonn as a full-range university with a strong international orientation. In many international university rankings Bonn is placed among the 100 best universities in the world.Its academic and research profile features internationally renowned specializations in the fields of Mathematics, Physics/Astronomy, Economics, Chemistry, Pharma Research, Biosciences, Genetic Medicine, Neurosciences and Philosophy/Ethics. Other disciplines, such as Geography and Law, are of outstanding importance within the German research scene. The Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn is rooted in a long tradition going back almost 200 years. It was founded in 1818 by Friedrich-Wilhelm III, the Prussian king whose name it bears. Imbued with the spirit of Wilhelm von Humboldt, the university quickly joined the circle of Germany's most distinguished universities and became a major pole of attraction for leading scholars as well as students.The list of famous professors ranges from the astronomer Friedrich Wilhelm Argelander (1799-1875), through the chemist August Kekulé von Stradonitz (1829–1896) and political economist Josef Schumpeter (1883–1950) to the philologist Ernst Robert Curtius (1886–1956) and the theologists Karl Barth (1886–1968) and Joseph Ratzinger (born 1927), now Pope Benedict XVI. Bonn's best-known students include Heinrich Heine, Karl Marx, Friedrich Nietzsche, and Konrad Adenauer. The university is proud of a long list of award-winning scientists and scholars, with about twenty Leibniz Prize winners and around thirty ERC grantees. In the last three decades two professors have received the Nobel Prize: Wolfgang Paul (for Physics, 1989) and Reinhard Selten (for Economics, 1994). (Source: University of Bonn)
Show more

Original publication

Content-Based Agendas and Qualified Majorities in Sequential Voting

Kleiner Andreas and Moldovanu Benny
American Economic Review
Published in 2017